Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Literacy Online. Every child literate - a shared responsibility.
Ministry of Education.

National Standards

National Standards

National Standards came into effect in English-medium schools with pupils in years 1 to 8 in February 2010. The standards set clear expectations that students need to meet in reading, writing, and mathematics in the first eight years at school.

Accessing the National Standards

The National Standards packs are being distributed to schools from 30 October 2009. These packs will initially be distributed to all English-medium schools, based on the following:

  • boards of trustees in schools with students in Years 1 to 8 (three copies per board)
  • primary and secondary principals (one copy each)
  • Year 1 to 8 teachers (one copy each)
  • Year 9 teachers (one reference copy each)
  • primary and secondary schools (two reference copies per school).

Additional packs are free to order at Down the Back of the Chair. For further enquiries, phone the Down the Back of the Chair team on 0800 660 662.

The National Standards are also available online on the New Zealand Curriculum website.

English language learners progress and achievement will be reported in relation to the National Standards. It is recommended that schools also assess and report the progress and achievement of English language learners in relation to the English Language Learning Progressions (ELLP), as the Progressions provide a guide to typical language learning pathways for students learning English as an additional language.

Published on: 23 Oct 2009