Te Kete Ipurangi Navigation:

Te Kete Ipurangi

Te Kete Ipurangi user options:

Literacy Online. Every child literate - a shared responsibility.
Ministry of Education.

NCEA and Literacy

NCEA and Literacy

The Government have confirmed the final change package for NCEA, following a comprehensive review of NCEA and  announcement of  seven changes in May 2019.

There are two changes to the original proposed package and they relate to strengthening NCEA’s literacy and numeracy requirements:

  • the new, more robust, literacy and numeracy assessment will be offered to students from Year 9 onwards, rather than from Years 7 and 8
  • in some cases, exceptions to a single literacy and numeracy benchmark qualification without any alternative pathways may be appropriate – particularly for students with English as their second language.

Although no changes to NCEA will be implemented in 2020, the Ministry has started work to progress the changes. We’ll be working alongside teachers and other experts from the education sector, through subject expert groups, to develop the new achievement standards and resources across all NCEA subjects – starting with Level 1. 

The full NCEA change package is available online.

  • Literacy Unit Standards Resources  - These resources have been developed to assist with the planning, implementation and assessment of the level 1 Literacy unit standards.
  • Literacy Unit Standards Exemplars -These annotated exemplars are examples of learner evidence with associated assessment documentation that illustrate the grade boundary between Achieved and Not Achieved for each standard.
  • Implementing the literacy unit standards (Word 2007 26KB) - This report prepared by Trish Holden from UC Education Plus investigates how schools are implementing the literacy unit standards in 2011. The report identifies issues, responses from schools, positive aspects and considerations when implementing the standards.


Updated on: 05 Nov 2020